

Film Permit Instructions

All commercial filming/still photography activities wishing to occur within a State Park require a permit and the payment of appropriate fees pursuant to WAC 352-74, Filming Within State Parks. Filming activities occurring for educational purposes also require a permit; however, there is no charge for issuance of the permit. For adequate processing time, permit applications must be submitted 60 days in advance of the proposed activity to allow for staff review, agency coordination, and to comply with State Environmental Policy Act (SEPA) review requirements. The 60-day application filing requirement may be waived in extenuating circumstances.

Definitions:

- 1. **Commercial Purpose** When an individual or organization desires to film and/or take still photography within State Parks with the intent to sell or otherwise use the products for an economic gain (includes catalog and other advertising still photography).
- 2. **Educational Purpose** When an individual or organization desires to film and/or take still photography within State Parks as part of a formal educational requirement for which they are receiving credit from an accredited educational establishment and has no intent to sell or otherwise use the products for economic gain.

Applicant procedure for requesting a film permit in State Parks:

- 1. Obtain film permit application packet
 - a. State Parks website (http://parks.state.wa.us/209/Filming-Photography-Permits).
 - b. If unable to access online, application packets may be obtained from:
 - Any State Park (see State Park Contact List)
 - Region Offices:
 - o Eastern Region (509) 665-4319
 - o Northwest Region (360) 755-9231
 - o Southwest Region (360) 725-9770
 - State Parks Headquarters Information Center (360) 902-8500
- 2. Complete application form and return with application fee per the attached fee schedule to the Area Manager for review (see State Park Contact List).
 - a. To pay by check, send check with application material by mail.
 - b. To pay by credit card, email application including appropriate contact information in the email (phone numbers). The park will call for payment information.



- 3. A **site location** fee may be assessed based on the filming activity and its impact to the park and public per the attached fee schedule.
- 4. **Additional fees** may be required based on potential impacts to the park, public, and environment based on agency staff review.
- 5. Fees will be assessed at the time of approval and must be paid in full to the Area Manager before the commencement of activity.

Film Permit Instructions

- 6. Complete insurance binder:
 - a. List Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission as "ADDITIONAL INSURED" for a minimum of \$1,000,000 for the period of the filming, as follows:

Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission 1111 Israel Rd. SW Olympia, WA 98504-2650

- b. List park name and dates of filming in description section of insurance binder.
- c. Send completed insurance binder directly to the Park: ATTENTION Area Manager.
- d. Some filming activities may require additional coverage. Approval, if made, will be contingent upon receipt of the adequate insurance binder within an appropriate timeframe.
- 7. Area Manager will conduct initial review of the application within 10 days of receiving a completed application. Again, for adequate processing time, permit applications must be submitted 60 days in advance of the proposed activity to allow for staff review, agency coordination, and to comply with SEPA review requirements. The 60-day application filing requirement may be waived in extenuating circumstances. Applicant will be notified of review process within 10 days. If the application is denied, the application fee is non-refundable. If the application is approved, the Area Manager will send a copy of the application and official film permit. The Permittee must carry the permit with them during the activity.

The use of scans (email), faxes, and express mail services is permitted. To ensure a successful completion of the project, it is important for the applicant to stay in close telephone and/or e-mail contact with the Area Manager or designated staff.



No filming or still photography may take place without an approved film permit except for personal or news media purpose.

Permittee may be required to obtain additional permits depending on the location and activities. It is the permittees responsibility to be aware of what additional permits are required.

Film Permit Instructions

Application Fees (Non-Refundable)							
Special Activity	\$45						
Film/Photography	\$100						
Remote Controlled Aircraft			\$25				
Additional Fees							
A <u>Discover Pass</u> is required for all vehicles unless they are registered as an overnight occupant, <u>www.discoverpass.wa.gov</u> .							
Staff Costs	\$32 / hour – Park Ranger \$22 / hour – Park Staff, Non-Ranger Fee For actual staff time required for the activity						
Day Use Activity Fee	Fee is based upon a tiered rate of \$32.75 for every 25 people \$32.75 - 25 people or less \$65.50 - 26 to 50 people \$98.25 - 51 to 75 people \$131 - 76 to 100 people, etc.						
Vendor Fee	\$50 / vendor – Vendors are required to submit completed Temporary Vendor Permit, proof of insurance, and fee to the Event Coordinator in charge of the activity.						
Site Location Fees (Film/Photography)							
Still & Video Photography	1-2 paid permittee staff 1-2 vehicles		No site location fee required for still or video photography when impact is limited to no more than 2 paid staff.				
Still & Video Photography & Commercials	\$200/Day 1-8 paid permittee staff and less than 3 vehicles	\$250/Day 9-20 paid permittee staff and no more than 8 vehicles		\$350/Day Over 20 paid permittee staff or over 8 vehicles			
TV Movie/Episode, Specialty Productions, Feature Films	\$300/Day 1-20 paid permittee staff and less than 5 vehicles	\$350/Day 21-30 paid permittee staff and no more than 20 vehicles		\$700/Day Over 30 paid permittee staff or over 20 vehicles			
Base environmental review fee is included in application fees. Additional environmental and staff reviews may be assessed.							



Environmental/SEPA	\$32.86 / hour	Natural Resources	\$43.79 / hour
Archaeological	\$41.70 / hour	Historic Preservation	\$48.33 / hour

Impact Fees

High Impact Fees may be negotiated depending on degree of disruption of normal park use and activities. Establishment of high impact fees will be done in consultation with the Region Manager, Environmental program, and/or Business Development program. Examples of conditions where additional fees may be assessed;

- Loss of revenue to park
- Impact on park staff
- Impact on park operating costs
- Facility use charges
- Potential damage to park resources (may require bond or damage deposit)
- Exclusive use of an area
- Events exceeding 300 participants.
- Archaeological impacts