News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: March 18, 2020

State Parks Boating Program encourages boaters to ‘Spring Aboard’

Annual campaign reminds boaters to get educated

OLYMPIA – March 18, 2020 – During Spring Aboard Week, March 22-28, the Washington State Parks Boating Program encourages boaters to prepare for the upcoming season by taking a boating safety certification course.

Developed by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and produced under a grant administered by the U.S. Coast Guard, the annual Spring Aboard campaign informs and motivates boaters and paddlers on how to enroll in a boating safety course.

Why be certified in boating safety?
For many boaters, it’s the law. In Washington state, boaters who operate a vessel with a 15-horsepower engine (or greater) must be certified and carry a Boater Education Card to prove they passed an accredited boating safety education course.

“We encourage all boaters to take a safety course, even if they’re not legally required to,” said Rob Sendak, State Parks Boating Program Manager. “When people take a boating safety course, they are choosing to learn a variety of skills that can make them better boaters and help keep our waters safer.”

Getting certified is as easy as taking a self-paced online course. Other options include instructor-led classroom courses and hands-on training throughout the year, but many in-person courses are being canceled or postponed due to the coronavirus outbreak.

For boaters with significant experience, a home study with an equivalency exam is also an option.

Each course gives a strong foundation of boating safety, emergency procedures and navigational rules.

As of Feb. 28, 2020, more than 369,900 Washingtonians have obtained a Boater Education Card.

How do boaters obtain a Boater Education Card?
After completing and passing a state-approved boating safety course or equivalency exam, students must apply for a Boater Education Card with their proof of certification. Many online course providers will complete this step and charge a third-party fee. If boaters apply directly with the Boating Program, the one-time fee for the card is $10. More information about courses and the boater education card can be found at www.boatered.org.

Some important things to know:

  • U.S. Coast Guard statistics indicate that, of the accidents where the level of operator education was known, 80 percent of boating deaths occurred on boats where the boat operator had never received boating education instruction.
  • Boat operators born before Jan. 1, 1955, are exempt from the Washington requirement but may choose to get a card if they plan to go boating in Canada or Oregon, which require proof that they completed a boating education course. The Washington State Boater Education Card is valid in those two areas.
  • Forty-nine states and U.S. territories require proof of having completed a boating education course for operators of some powered vessels.
  • When required by law, the fine for not carrying a valid Boater Education Card in Washington state is $99.

News media contacts:
Christina Fremont, Boating Program, (360) 902-8837
Toni Droscher, Communications Office, (360) 902-8604

_________________________________________________________________________________ 

About the Washington State Boating Program

Washington State Parks administers the state’s Boating Program, which provides leadership in boating safety and environmental education and outreach. The goal of the program is to reduce accidents and fatalities, increase stewardship of Washington waterways, and keep recreational boating a safe, accessible and enjoyable pastime. For more information on the Boating Program, visit: www.washingtonstateparks.us/Boating 

About Washington State Parks

The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission manages more than 100 state parks and properties totaling approximately 120,000 acres. The Commission provides a variety of recreation opportunities for citizens and provides stewardship protection for a diverse array of natural, cultural and historic resources. State Parks’ statewide programs include long-distance trails, boating safety and winter recreation.

News release number: 20-015

 

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News Releases

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 8, 2020

Next State Parks free day is Oct. 10

Posted on: September 28, 2020

State Parks announces free days for 2021

Posted on: September 22, 2020

State Parks Commission to meet next week

Posted on: September 10, 2020

State Parks prohibits campfires statewide

Posted on: September 8, 2020

Next State Parks free day is Aug. 25

Posted on: August 18, 2020

State parks seek volunteers for 2020

Posted on: December 11, 2019

State Parks announces winter schedule

Posted on: October 21, 2019

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 8, 2019

Sept. 28 is next State Parks free day

Posted on: September 9, 2019

Riverside State Park adds cabins

Posted on: August 20, 2019

State Parks announces free day March 19

Posted on: February 25, 2019

Help improve safety on Willapa Hills Trail

Posted on: November 21, 2018

2019 State Parks Calendar on sale now

Posted on: November 15, 2018

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 30, 2018

State Parks announces 2019 free days

Posted on: October 17, 2018

State Parks announces winter schedule

Posted on: October 8, 2018

History comes alive at Sacajawea State Park

Posted on: September 12, 2018

Celebrate autumn at Lake Sylvia State Park

Posted on: September 4, 2018