Washington State Parks is waiving THE PERCENTAGE cancellation and reduction-in-night FEES for summer 2020
We know planning can be difficult in the best of times! During the 2020 summer camping season, we want you to plan your stay with us without worrying about losing the percentage fees if you need to cancel or reduce how many nights you’ll stay. This temporary change waives the incremental fees usually assessed based on the length of time a reservation is held (as described below).
Please note: The nonrefundable transaction fees, such as the reservation fee ($8 made online and $10 through the call center) and the transaction fee to cancel ($8 made online and $10 through the call center) will still be assessed.
Reservation or reduction in nights
Washington State Parks and Recreation sets cancellation fees to encourage the public to make cancellations, including reductions in the number of nights reserved, as soon as possible so that others may reserve and use the unoccupied sites. Fees are non-refundable including the reservation fee ($8.00 online or $10.00 through the Reservation Call Center) and any reservation change and cancellation fees. Reservations may be canceled by calling (888) 226-7688 or the Washington Telecommunications Relay Service at 711 or (800) 833-6384.
You can cancel online or through the Reservation Call Center. You can cancel no earlier than 8 months prior to arrival or no later than 8PM on the arrival day.
Cancelling individual site reservations
When cancelling reservations for individual campsites, cabins, yurts, platform tents, Adirondack shelters, or vacation houses, please be aware of the following information:
- If you cancel or reduce nights on a reservation seven or more days prior to your scheduled arrival date, the cancel / change fee is $8 online or $10 by calling the Reservation Center, plus a fee that is a percentage of the cost of all cancelled nights as follows:
- 50% for reservations held more than six months
- 40% for reservations held five to six months
- 30% for reservations held four to five months
- 20% for reservations held three to four months
- 15% for reservations held two to three months
- 10% for reservations held one to two months
- 5% for reservations held less than one month
- For example: A reservation is made 5 months in advance and canceled one month prior to arrival online. Being held 4 to 5 months, the percentage is 30% of all nights canceled.
- Making the Reservation
- $8.00 Reservation Fee
- $90.00 Camping Fee ($45 X 2 nights)
- $98.00 Paid
- Canceling the Reservation
- $98.00 Paid
- - $8.00 Non-refundable reservation fee
- - $8.00 Cancelation fee
- - $27.00 30% of nightly fee canceled, held 4 -5 months
- $55.00 Refund
- Making the Reservation
- If you cancel a reservation - or reduce the number of nights on your reservation - six or fewer days prior to the scheduled arrival date, the minimum fee will be the change / cancel fee plus 20% of any cancelled nights. Reservations held for more than four months will be subject to the percentages listed above.
Cancelling multiple site reservations
- If you cancel or reduce your nights for one reservation in a multiple-site reservation, all of the accompanying site reservations also will be canceled.
- The same cancellation fees and penalties apply to multiple site reservations as individual site reservations.
Cancellation fee overview
Please see the graphic below for more information on percentages lost for cancelling or reducing nights.
Your reservation is considered a no-show if you have not arrived by 1 p.m. the day following your scheduled arrival day and you didn't cancel your reservation or contact park staff to hold your site by calling the phone number provided on your reservation confirmation.
Payment for camping nights is not refunded for no-show reservations.
Group Camps & Group day-use facilities
- If you cancel your reservation 29 or more days before your scheduled arrival date, the cancel fee is $8 online or $10 by calling the Reservation Center.
- If you cancel 28 or fewer days before your scheduled arrival date, you must pay for up to two nights or days regardless of when the reservation was made.