THINGS TO REMEMBER
ABOUT BOATING SAFETY:

@ There are more safety variables on the
water than on highways: weather, waves,
tides and currents, water levels, large boat
traffic and other concerns that you need to
be aware of before going out on the water.

@ The number of registered boats has more
than doubled since 1985, adding to greater
congestion on some waterways.

@ There is a growing variety of faster, more
powerful, motorized watercraft on the
waterways.

@ Many vessels are operated by inexper-
ienced boaters with little or no
knowledge of the "rules of the road.”

@ Check the age phase in chart in this
brochure to see when you need to
get your card.

For more information, check the
State Parks Web site:
WWW.PARKS.WA.GOV/BOATING

GO BOATING!
HAVE FUN!
AND,
WEAR YOUR
LIFE JACKET!

GET ON BOARD!

GET YOUR BOATER
CARD TODAY!
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MANDATORY BOATING SAFETY EDUCATION
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he Washington state Mandatory Boating Safety
Education law requires boaters ages 12 years and
older to pass a boating safety course or an equivalency
exam and obtain a Boater Education Card before
operating a motorized vessel of 15 horsepower or greater.

How do | qualify for a Boater Education Card?
You must be at least 12 years old to apply. You must
take a course approved by the National Association
of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and
the Washington State Parks and Recreation
Commission. You can take a classroom, online or
home-study course. Also, boaters with a lot of
boating experience may take an equivalency exam.
For more information, visit online at
www.parks.wa.gov/boating or call (360) 902-8844.

How can | get my Boater Education Card?
After successful completion of an approved course
or exam, you must complete a Boater Education Card
Application. To get an application form, visit online at
www.parks.wa.gov/boating. Complete and mail the
s application with a copy of your course completion

i certificate and $10 to the address given on the application.

How much does a Boater Education Card cost?

» . Theinitial costis $10. A replacement card is $5.
Please note: Cards purchased from online course
providers may be subject to an additional handling fee.

'1- When will | receive my Boater Education Card?
Once your application and supporting documents
are received, it takes approximately six weeks to
process the application.
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Is my Boater Education Card good in other states
and Canada that have mandatory boating
education requirements?

Yes.

Is my Oregon Boater Education Card valid in
Washington?

Yes. If you are visiting Washington for less than 60
consecutive days, your Oregon card is valid. If you
become a Washington resident, your Oregon Boater
Education Card can be used to apply for a
Washington card. There is a $10 fee with this
application.

When will I need to carry my Boater Education Card?
The card requirement is being phased in from 2008
through 2014. Boaters in the age groups below will
need to have their cards on them when operating a
boat starting Jan. 1 of the year noted:

Year Age Group

2010 12 years to 30 years old

2011 35 years and younger

2012 40 years and younger

2013 50 years and younger

2014 59 years and younger

After 2014 Card required for any person
born Jan. 1, 1955 or later.

Do | have to wait to get my Boater Education Card
until the year it is required?

No. If you have passed an approved course, you may
apply for your card now. The Washington State Parks
Boating Programs encourage boaters to get their
cards as soon as possible.

Do all boat operators need a Boater Education Card?
Boaters born before Jan. 1, 1955, are exempt from
this law. Other boaters may not be required to
have a Boater Education Card. Please see the
conditions below:

Other conditions

Operators of commercial fishing boats must have a
valid commercial license or a Boater Education Card
when operating a recreational vessel.

Operators with a valid U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) marine
operator license must carry either the USCG license or
a card when operating a recreational vessel.

Operators of government vessels exempt from state
registration do not need a card when operating a
government vessel, but they must have a card when
operating a recreational vessel.

Operators of rented, leased or chartered vessels must
have a copy of the State Parks-approved educational
checklist or a card.

A person of any age practicing or engaging in a
permitted racing event: A card is not needed as long
as the event is permitted and permitting document is
available for inspection at site of event.

An operator who is a resident of another state or
country (with or without a valid card from that
state or country): Card is not needed the first 60
consecutive days. After this, must have Washington
state Boater Education Card.

A person purchasing a vessel: For the first 60 days
after purchasing a vessel, the bill of sale showing date
of purchase is valid in lieu of a card.

Operators ages 12 years and older without a card
must be under the direct supervision of a person who
is 16 years of age or older who has a Boater Education
Card, unless exempt based on the conditions above.
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