Discover Pass: A Discover Pass is required for vehicle access to state parks for day use. For more information about the Discover Pass and exemptions, please visit the Discover Pass web page.
Automated pay station: This park is equipped with an automated pay station for visitors to purchase a one-day or annual Discover Pass.
Millersylvania State Park lies within the accustomed territory of multiple Native American tribes including Southern Lushootseed peoples and the Upper Chehalis groups.
Beginning in the mid-1800s, the land now comprising Millersylvania was gradually claimed by homesteaders over a period of about 30 years. The John L. Miller family arrived in Thurston County in 1881 and purchased land near Deep Lake in 1882. Miller, his wife Anna Barbara, his daughters Christina Mary and Matilda Sophia, and his son Frederick J.X., established a farm on their land and sold their excess products in town. Remnants of the family’s fruit orchard are still visible in near the geographic center of the park.
After the passing of his parents and siblings, Frederick obtained sole ownership of his family’s land, which had grown to an estate of over 700 acres, and willed it to Washington State for use as a park upon his death in 1921.
The park opened in 1924. The name “Millersylvania Park” (literally, Miller-Forest Land Park) is a stipulation of Frederick’s will.
The first major development of Millersylvania as a public park occurred during the Great Depression. In fall of 1933, a Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) camp was established at the park. Through 1940, young CCC enrollees were put to work developing trails, roads and amenities for the public including picnic shelters, bathhouses and a caretaker’s home. The structures were built primarily by hand, using logs from within the park and Tenino sandstone. Most of these rustic buildings remain in the park to this day.
In 2009, the park was listed on the National Register of Historic Places due to its largely-intact CCC landscape.