Automated pay station: This park is equipped with an automated pay station for visitors to purchase a one-day or annual Discover Pass and boat launch permit.
Twanoh State Park is one of the oldest state parks in Washington. It was officially dedicated and opened to the public on June 9, 1923. Twanoh was the first state park to be purchased; earlier parks had been citizen land donations. Although initial development was limited, the park grew popular and soon became overwhelmed with visitors.
During the Great Depression, President Franklin Roosevelt’s “New Deal” work relief programs provided the money and manpower to develop new facilities at Twanoh. In 1933, with funding from the Public Works Administration, National Park Service (NPS) architects were hired to design new facilities, including bathhouses, picnic shelters and a caretaker’s house. All buildings were designed in the NPS’s signature “rustic” style, using local materials intended to blend in with the landscape.
Construction was performed by local contractors until a Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) camp was assigned to the park. During the Great Depression, more than a dozen CCC camps were established in Washington state parks. Camp Twanoh opened in 1935 and operated through 1938.
Most of the structures and landscape features developed during this period remain in the western half of the park, making Twanoh one of the most intact examples of Great Depression-era park architecture in Washington’s state park system.