
 

 

Film Permit Instructions  

  

All commercial filming/still photography activities wishing to occur within a State Park require a 

permit and the payment of appropriate fees pursuant to WAC 352-74, Filming Within State 

Parks. Filming activities occurring for educational purposes also require a permit; however, there 

is no charge for issuance of the permit. For adequate processing time, permit applications must 

be submitted 60 days in advance of the proposed activity to allow for staff review, agency 

coordination, and to comply with State Environmental Policy Act (SEPA) review requirements. 

The 60-day application filing requirement may be waived in extenuating circumstances. 

  

Definitions:  

  

1. Commercial Purpose – When an individual or organization desires to film and/or take 

still photography within State Parks with the intent to sell or otherwise use the products 

for an economic gain (includes catalog and other advertising still photography).  

2. Educational Purpose – When an individual or organization desires to film and/or take 

still photography within State Parks as part of a formal educational requirement for which 

they are receiving credit from an accredited educational establishment and has no intent 

to sell or otherwise use the products for economic gain.  

Applicant procedure for requesting a film permit in State Parks:  

1. Obtain film permit application packet   

a. State Parks website (http://parks.state.wa.us/209/Filming-Photography-Permits ).  

b. If unable to access online, application packets may be obtained from:  

• Any State Park (see State Park Contact List) 

• Region Offices:  

o Eastern Region – (509) 665-4319  

o Northwest Region – (360) 755-9231  

o Southwest Region – (360) 725-9770  

• State Parks Headquarters Information Center – (360) 902-8500  

 

2. Complete application form and return with application fee per the attached fee schedule 

to the Area Manager for review (see State Park Contact List).  

a. To pay by check, send check with application material by mail.  

b. To pay by credit card, email application including appropriate contact information in 

the email (phone numbers). The park will call for payment information.   
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3. A site location fee may be assessed based on the filming activity and its impact to the 

park and public per the attached fee schedule.    

4. Additional fees may be required based on potential impacts to the park, public, and 

environment based on agency staff review.    

5. Fees will be assessed at the time of approval and must be paid in full to the Area Manager 

before the commencement of activity.   

Film Permit Instructions  

  

6. Complete insurance binder:   

a. List Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission as “ADDITIONAL 

INSURED” for a minimum of $1,000,000 for the period of the filming, as 

follows:  

Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission  

1111 Israel Rd. SW 

Olympia, WA  98504-2650  

b. List park name and dates of filming in description section of insurance binder.   

c. Send completed insurance binder directly to the Park: ATTENTION – Area 

Manager.  

d. Some filming activities may require additional coverage. Approval, if made, will 

be contingent upon receipt of the adequate insurance binder within an appropriate 

timeframe.    

7. Area Manager will conduct initial review of the application within 10 days of receiving a 

completed application. Again, for adequate processing time, permit applications must be 

submitted 60 days in advance of the proposed activity to allow for staff review, agency 

coordination, and to comply with SEPA review requirements. The 60-day application 

filing requirement may be waived in extenuating circumstances. Applicant will be 

notified of review process within 10 days. If the application is denied, the application fee 

is non-refundable. If the application is approved, the Area Manager will send a copy of 

the application and official film permit. The Permittee must carry the permit with them 

during the activity. 

The use of scans (email), faxes, and express mail services is permitted. To ensure a 

successful completion of the project, it is important for the applicant to stay in close 

telephone and/or e-mail contact with the Area Manager or designated staff.   



 

No filming or still photography may take place without an approved film permit except for 

personal or news media purpose.  

Permittee may be required to obtain additional permits depending on the location and 

activities. It is the permittees responsibility to be aware of what additional permits are 

required.   

Film Permit Instructions  

  

Application Fees (Non-Refundable) 

Special Activity $45 

Film/Photography $100 

Remote Controlled Aircraft $25 

Additional Fees 

A Discover Pass is required for all vehicles unless they are registered as an overnight occupant, 

www.discoverpass.wa.gov. 

Staff Costs 

$32 / hour – Park Ranger 

$22 / hour – Park Staff, Non-Ranger 

Fee For actual staff time required for the activity 

Day Use Activity Fee 

Fee is based upon a tiered rate of $32.75 for every 25 people 

$32.75 - 25 people or less 

$65.50 - 26 to 50 people 

$98.25 - 51 to 75 people 

$131    - 76 to 100 people, etc. 

Vendor Fee 

$50 / vendor – Vendors are required to submit completed  

Temporary Vendor Permit, proof of insurance, and fee to the Event 

Coordinator in charge of the activity.  

Site Location Fees (Film/Photography) 

Still & Video Photography 

1-2 paid permittee staff 

1-2 vehicles 

No site location fee required for still or 

video photography when impact is 

limited to no more than 2 paid staff. 

Still & Video Photography & 

Commercials 

$200/Day  

1-8 paid 

permittee staff and 

less than 3  

vehicles 

$250/Day  

9-20 paid 

permittee staff and 

no more than 8 

vehicles 

$350/Day 

Over 20 paid 

permittee staff or 

over 8 vehicles 

TV Movie/Episode, Specialty 

Productions, Feature Films 

$300/Day  

1-20 paid 

permittee staff and 

less than 5 vehicles 

$350/Day  

21-30 paid 

permittee staff and no 

more than 20 vehicles 

$700/Day 

Over 30 paid 

permittee staff or 

over 20 vehicles 

Base environmental review fee is included in application fees.  Additional environmental and 

staff reviews may be assessed. 

http://www.discoverpass.wa.gov/
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Environmental/SEPA $32.86 / hour Natural Resources $43.79 / hour 

Archaeological $41.70 / hour Historic Preservation $48.33 / hour 

Impact Fees 

High Impact Fees may be negotiated depending on degree of disruption of normal park use and 

activities. Establishment of high impact fees will be done in consultation with the Region Manager, 

Environmental program, and/or Business Development program.  Examples of conditions where 

additional fees may be assessed; 

• Loss of revenue to park 

• Impact on park staff 

• Impact on park operating costs 

• Facility use charges 

• Potential damage to park resources (may require bond or damage deposit) 

• Exclusive use of an area 

• Events exceeding 300 participants. 

• Archaeological impacts 

 


