
P.O. Box 42650
Olympia, WA 98504-2650
(360) 902-8500 
www.parks.state.wa.us
•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

All Washington state parks are developed and 
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2018S 159357

2017S 159357

2019S 159357

2020S 159357 If you would like to support Washington State Parks 
even more, please consider making a 

donation when renewing your license plate tabs. You 
also may place a check in a donation box when you 

visit state parks. 
Donations are a significant part of the State Parks 

budget and are needed to keep your parks 
open and operating. Thank you, and enjoy. 

For more info, visit www.parks.state..wa.us/donations
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Before flying, please com
plete registration form

 and deliver to park staff. If park 
staff is not available, please deposit in pay station.Registration is valid for one 
year from

 date of signature
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I have read and understand the sum
m

ary of rules for use of paragliders and 
hang gliders in state parks.
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in Washington State Parks

for paraglider and hang glider use

Before taking to the sky, you must complete 
and return the attached registration form to 
Washington State Parks. You must carry a copy 
of the completed registration with you when 
paragliding or hang gliding in an approved 
state park. Registration forms are also 
available at the park office during posted 
office hours. You may also register online 
at www.parks.state.wa.us.

Mail hard copy registration form to: 
Washington State Parks and 
Recreation Commission
P.O. Box 42650
Olympia, WA 98504-2650

Registration to fly a paraglider or hang gliderRegistration to fly a paraglider or hang glider

Steptoe Butte   
  State Park

Adventure Awaits.com

Connect with us on social media
www.twitter.com/WAStatePks
www.facebook.com/WashingtonStateParks
www.youtube.com/WashingtonStateParks

Share your stories and photos:

www.instagram.com/WAStatePks



  Washington StaWashington State Parks ruleste Parks rules 
WAC 352-32-130 – Use of aircraft in 
Washington state parks
• Comply with the registration process  
  provided for such purposes;
• Observe all applicable laws and regulations,  
  including Washington State Parks rules;
• Never destroy or disturb park facilities, 
  natural features, or historical or 
  archaeological resources;
• Conduct themselves with thoughtfulness, 
  courtesy and consideration for others, and 
  not interfere with other recreational activities;
• Conduct themselves in compliance with the 
  following basic safety regulations:
• Comply with specific site operational 
  restrictions that are posted;
• Fly in a manner consistent with the pilot 
  rating held;
• Preplanned landings should be made in areas 
  no smaller than 40 feet wide by 100 feet long;
• Make preflight checks of weather, equipment 
  and site conditions;
• Observe all published traffic and right of way 
  flight guidelines, including yielding right of 
  way to all aircraft;
• Wear protective clothing, headgear, Coast 
  Guard-approved flotation gear, reserve 
  parachute, supplemental oxygen and 
  communication equipment as appropriate for 
  conditions;
• Fly in a manner that does not create a hazard 
  for other persons or property;
• Fly only during daylight hours, or hours 
  otherwise specified by posting at the site;
• Do not fly over congested areas of parks or 
  open air assembly of persons;
• Fly only in designated areas of parks;
• Fly with visual reference to the ground 
  surface at all times;
• Do not tether paragliders or hang gliders to 
  the ground or other stable non-movable object;
• Do not fly while under the influence of alcohol 
  or drugs.

Experienced paragliders and hang gliders who 
have their own gear can take off from Fort Flagler 
(paragliding), Fort Ebey (paragliding) and Steptoe 
Butte (paragliding and hang gliding) state parks.

Both historic forts are at the northern entrance to 
Puget Sound, and the views are unparalleled. 
The shape of Steptoe Butte, surrounded by low hills, 
can make for superb wind conditions. 

Soaring under your wing, catching thermals and sitting 
in your harness, you may spot Key Peninsula, Camano 
Island, Fort Worden, Fort Casey and the snow-capped 
Olympic Mountains from the forts. The colorful Palouse 
Hills roll out to the horizon from Steptoe Butte. 

Things to remember...
• Paragliding and hang gliding are permitted only at  
  designated locations within approved state parks.

• A Discover Pass is needed for vehicle access to 
  Washington state parks. The fine for not displaying 
  the pass is $99. For information and exemptions, 
  please visit the Discover Pass website at 
  www.discoverpass.wa.gov.

• Comply with basic safety regulations.

• Observe flight rules and regulations as outlined 
  in Part 103.

• Preplanned landings should be made in defined 
  areas (see posted park maps).

• Use proper safety equipment, including 
  helmet and radio.

• Park visitors may enter or be present in a 
  state park area only during designated 
  hours of operation. 

• Be respectful and courteous to other 
  visitors; do not interfere with other 
  recreational activities.

• All Washington state laws are enforced in 
  Washington state parks.

Rules and regulationsRules and regulations
Flying paragliders and hang gliders is 
regulated within state parks by Washington 
Administrative Code (WAC) and by 
Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Rules. 
Information defining airspace can be found 
in the Aeronautical Information Manual (AIM). 
Pilots must read and abide by all applicable 
laws and regulations:

Federal rulesFederal rules
Gliders must comply with FAA controlled 
airspace restrictions.
• No flying over any congested area of a city, 
  town or settlement;
• No flying over any open-air assembly of 
  persons;
• May not enter controlled airspace without 
  prior authorization from the controlling 
  authority;
Gliders must comply with visual flight  
requirements as outlined in AIM and CFR.
• Code of Federal Regulations Title 14 Part 103 
  – ultralight vehicles;
• Code of Federal Regulations Title 14 Part 
  91.155(c) – Basic visual flight requirements 
  (VFR) weather minimums;
• Aeronautical Information Manual – Chapter 
  3. Airspace, airspace defined.

Come take to 
the clouds

Fort Flagler State Park


